Riggs Abney shareholders elect new Officers & Board of Directors

Shareholders of Riggs, Abney, Neal, Turpen, Orbison & Lewis have elected new leadership for the regional firm operating in Tulsa, Oklahoma City and Denver.

Kristopher E. Koepsel was re-elected as the firm’s President and CEO for 2021, George M. Emerson was elected vice president and assistant secretary, Lisa Riggs was elected as secretary and assistant treasurer and Thomas M. Askew will serve as treasurer and assistant secretary.  These four officers are also members of the Firm’s Board of Directors.

The executive committee is responsible for managing the firm’s business operations.

Kristopher E. Koepsel is based in the Tulsa office and his practice involves advising clients on business and commercial law, civil litigation, civil rights, employment and labor law, government and politics, insurance and “bad faith”, medical and professional negligence, personal injury, product liability, real estate and transportation law matters. He holds a Juris Doctor and Certificate in Resources Energy and Environmental Law from The University of Tulsa College of Law.

George M. Emerson practices in Oklahoma City in the areas of bankruptcy, estate planning, wills, trusts and probate, government and politics, insurance receiverships, personal injury and real estate. He holds a Juris Doctor from the University of Oklahoma College of Law and is actively involved with the Oklahoma Bar Association, where he serves as a fellow.

Lisa Riggs practices as a civil litigator in Riggs Abney’s Tulsa office and focuses on representing clients with injuries resulting from accidents, including victims of medical mistakes and medical or pharmaceutical products. Before joining the firm, she served as a mediator in the District of Columbia Superior Court and the Tulsa County District Court. She earned her Juris Doctor from Georgetown University Law Center.

Thomas M. Askew litigates business disputes, insurance matters, transportation liability cases, “bad faith” cases, business torts, contract disputes and personal injury matters in the firm’s Tulsa office. He obtained his Juris Doctor from The University of Tulsa School of Law and is admitted to the Oklahoma State and Federal courts, as well as numerous federal appellate courts and the United States Supreme Court.

The shareholders also re-elected as additional members of the 2021 board of directors, Bob Nance, Jim Orbison, David Riggs, Harley Thomas, Mike Turpen, and Sharon Weaver.  In addition to those returning directors, two new directors were elected for 2021, Peter W. Brolick and Rex W. Thompson.

Peter W. Brolick practices in Tulsa, handling complex technical, legal, financial and factual matters for businesses in industries including insurance, construction, healthcare, oil and gas and real estate. He holds a Juris Doctor from the University of Oklahoma College of Law and was named Tulsa County Bar Association’s Young Lawyer of the Year in 2003, received the President’s Award in 2006 and has been recognized as an AV Preeminent Peer Rated Attorney by Martindale-Hubbell.

Rex W. Thompson practices in Tulsa in the areas of workers’ compensation, personal injury, employment law and school law. He holds a Juris Doctor from the University of Oklahoma College of Law, is a member of the Tulsa County Bar Association and Oklahoma Bar Association, and is admitted to practice law in all Federal District Courts in Oklahoma and the state of Oklahoma.

Share this post