I exist to assist.

Michael C. Turpen is a shareholder in the firm’s Oklahoma City office. He is a member of the Business & Commercial Law, Criminal Law and Government Law & Politics practice areas.

Mr. Turpen earned a Juris Doctor from The University of Tulsa, served as Muskogee County District Attorney from 1977 to 1982 and was elected Attorney General for the state of Oklahoma in 1982. He has been a partner at the firm since 1987.

He remains politically active and appears weekly on Oklahoma City’s award-winning public affairs show, “Flashpoint.” He is a national public speaker, having keynoted conferences of the National Association of Attorneys General, the Fourth Federal Judicial Circuit, and the National Family and Juvenile Judges’ Association.

Mr. Turpen argued before the United States Supreme Court in 1985. He served as President of the Oklahoma District Attorneys Association, Vice President of the National Organization of Victim Assistance (NOVA), and Vice Chairman of Oklahoma’s Crime Commission.

Mr. Turpen is a member of the Oklahoma Bar Association. He is a member of Westminster Presbyterian Church in Oklahoma City, is happily married to Susan, has three adult children and is the proud grandfather of Wren.

Awards & Recognition

OBA’s Outstanding Young Lawyer (1975)
OBA’s Maurice Merrill Golden Quill Award (1980)
Esquire Magazine’s Men & Women Under 40 Changing the Nation (1985)
National Foundation for the Improvement of Justice Award (1986)
Appointed to President Clinton’s Advisory Council on the Arts (1992)
The University of Tulsa Outstanding Alumnus (2000)
Honorary Chairman of Urban League of OKC (2003)
National Association of Attorneys General Francis X. Bellotti Award (2004)
Lyric Theatre’s John Kirkpatrick Award (2006)
OBA’s William Paul Distinguished Service Award (2007)
Association of Fundraising Professionals’ Outstanding Fundraiser Award (2007)
OKC Knights of Columbus’ John F. Kennedy Award for Community Service (2007)
Recognition from Clinton Global Initiative (2007)
Governor’s Arts Award for Community Service (2008)
Treasures for Tomorrow Award (2008)
Urban Pioneer Award (2008)
Oklahoma Hall of Fame (2010)
Louise Bennett Distinguished Service Award (2012)
Jasmine Moran Award for Outstanding Community Service (2017)
Allied Arts’ Aubrey McClendon Visionary Award (2018)

Board Service

Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education (Regent)
The Oklahoma City National Memorial and Museum (Former Board President)
Bank of Oklahoma (Board of Directors)
Oklahoma State Fair (Board of Directors)
Allied Arts (Board of Directors)
United Way of Central Oklahoma (Board of Directors)
The University of Tulsa College of Law (Advisory Board)
Lyric Theatre of Oklahoma (former Board President)
CARE Center, OKC (Former Board President)
Oklahoma Academy of State Goals (Member)
Rotary Club of OKC (Member)
Oklahoma Business Roundtable (Member)
The Economic Club of Oklahoma (Member)

Office: 405-843-9909
Address: Riggs Abney
528 N.W. 12th Street

Oklahoma City, OK 73103
Email: mturpen@riggsabney.com